Skip to content

BREAKING NEWS- Turkington Parts With BMR

Colin Turkington and Team BMR today announce a parting of ways; ending their relationship after two successful BTCC seasons. 

Double British Touring Car Champion Colin Turkington will not be driving for Buntingford based Team BMR in the 2017 BTCC following an agreement to end their current arrangement.

Driving a Volkswagen CC in 2015 Colin claimed his fifth Independents Championship title with Team BMR, assisting them in winning the Teams Championship the same year.

2016 saw Team BMR build and develop four brand new Subaru Levorg’s in which Turkington took the historic first ever BTCC race win for Subaru, at only the fourth event of the season. He continued this fine form to mount an impressive assault on the overall Championship entering the final race as one of three contenders for the crown.

Despite losing out on claiming a third title Colin was rewarded for his incredible efforts in 2016 by receiving the prestigious British Racing Drivers Club (BRDC) Silver Star for the second time in his career.

Colin Turkington comments “I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at Team BMR and will savour the success we shared together over the past two seasons; however, the time has come to part company and apply the focus to each of our own individual goals and needs. I sincerely value the journey we have shared together securing the Teams Championship in 2015, winning my fifth Indy title and of course the thrilling year we have just had with the Subaru Levorg. I have been fortunate to work with some of the best in the business at BMR and it has been a valuable experience and certainly helped me grow and improve. The BTCC is surely one of the toughest Championships in the world to win and to finish last season with a realistic shot at winning the title in a new car was a tremendous achievement. I wish Team BMR every success going forward and I hope they are as proud of our time together as much as I am.”

 Colin Turkington – Team BMR 2015 / 2016

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship

2015 BTCC Independent Driver Champion

2015 BTCC Team Champions




%d bloggers like this: