Skip to content

Fiesta Endurance Race attracts big names at Mondello!

It is Endurance Race time again at Mondello Park this weekend as almost 30 Zetec Fiestas line up to compete in a gruelling 6 Hour team event.

Last seasons’ top three teams will return, with an almost identical driver line-up set to take up where they left off in 2014. Last year Murray Motorsport ran out winners by a single lap from Blackchurch Ford with another Murray Motorsport car coming home third.

The Murray cars are back with identical line-ups, which boast both youth and experience. Car 10 will have Eoin and Niall Murray on-board as well as Barry English and Michael Cullen while Car 3 will have the Denning brothers, John and Liam along with Michael Devaney and Richie Faulkner. The 2015 Blackchurch Fiesta Championship winning crew will be out to go one better than last year with Barry Rabbitt and Richard Kearney returning to its line-up where they will be joined by Formula Ford ace Kevin O’Hara.

Other famous names joining the grid this weekend will include US Sportscar Racer Damien Faulkner, Le Mans and Historic Grand Prix racer Michael Lyons, aspiring European Le Mans series racer Sean Doyle and Formula Ford festival winner Wayne Boyd. Faulkner will race for the Southside Motor Factors team along with Neill and Gerard Tohill and former Formula Opel race winner Keith Dempsey. Doyle will race alongside Murphy Prototypes LMP2 pilot  Monaco Historic Formula One winner Michael Lyons and regular Fiesta competitor Colin Lewis, while Boyd will race a Blackchurch Motors Car with 2014 Fiesta champion Sean Lillis and former A1 Grand Prix driver Niall Quinn.

The Rallycross Stockhatch “Axe Murderer” team are also back- Stock Hatch experts Peter McGarry and Paddy Bateman are joined by newly crowned Irish and BTRDA Rallycross champion John Ward in the car driven recently by Brian McCormack and Wayne Boyd  in the Rallycross Championship. Mondello Park also field a team with Fiesta specialist Phil Lawless, Chief Instructor Ken Elliott, Ian Beatty and GM Roddy Greene. Mr Gearbox also have an entry in, with a strong lineup of Keith Dawson, Alan Dawson and Alistair Kellett- all proven winners. Former series sponsor Brian Matthews is also out with RTE’s John Kenny and rally champion Aaron McHale alongside.

Two UK crews will also join the event for the first time with GT Racers Kevin and Charlie Bird and Martin Thomas making up one team while the other is comprised of BMW racers Tom Houlbrook, Christopher Boardman, Arran Moulton-Smith and Mark Smith. The remainder of the grid will be filled with a who’s who of Irish circuit racing, with regular Fiesta competitors being joined by Touring Car, Single seater and sportscar drivers.

Qualifying for The Fiesta Enduro takes place on Sunday morning with a single session in which all of a team’s drivers must compete in order to qualify. The longest race of the season will then get underway at noon and run into the darkness finishing at 18:00.

Admission to the event is just €12.50 for adults with under 16’s admitted foc. Live audio coverage from the race will be provided by with the inimitable Cregor Elliott roving the pitlane for updates and stories during the race. You can listen from 11:45am HERE.

Image from Trevor Kinsella.


%d bloggers like this: