Skip to content

Motorsport Ireland roundup- Cavan Stages & Jonny McMullan

local driver Jenna McCann will take part in the Cavan Stages Rally Picture repro free by Ruaidhri NashThis weekend’s Hotel Kilmore Cavan Stages Rally boasts a capacity entry, headed at number 1 by last year’s winner Niall Maguire. Maguire, a 6 time winner of the event, will be looking to take a record breaking 7th win this weekend. At number 2 is Garry Jennings who will have previous winner Rory Kennedy on the notes. Jennings, a former Irish Tarmac Champion hasn’t been seen since he Birr rally in February. Peader Hurson starts at number 3 and he, like Maguire and Jennings, will behind the wheel of a Subaru Impreza World Rally Car. PJ Mc Dermott is seeded at 4 in another Subaru Impreza World Rally Car.
Mechanical scrutiny will take place in the Liberty insurance car park on Saturday afternoon before the event starts on Sunday morning with the first car leaving the Hotel Kilmore at 9:45 am. Clerk of the Course Stephen Kellett has laid out a challenging route consisting of 3 stages repeated 3 times. The stages this year are based in the north west of the county in the Bawnboy, Corlough area with service taking place in the Quinn Therm facility on the Ballyconnell-Derrylin road.
Elsewhere current Dunlop Motorsport Ireland Young Racing Driver of the Year Jonny McMullan travels to Oulton Park this weekend for rounds five and six of the 2015 BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 Championship. McMullan currently leads the standings 14 points clear of his nearest rival Patrick Dussault.

Jonny McMullan – Dunlop Motorsport Ireland Van Diemen Formula Ford 1600:

“After a difficult weekend in Donington Park coming away with a fourth and eighth place finish, I am excited to be getting back into the Dunlop, Motorsport Ireland and Irish Sports Council Formula Ford for rounds five and six of the BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 Championship this weekend. I am confident going into this weekend leading the championship, especially after a recent test event on Easter weekend where we came away with two poles and two wins. I really enjoy the Oulton Park International layout and I feel we have a good knowledge of the car and track heading into this weekend to fight for race wins!”

Cavan stages Rally
The Group N category sees a strong entry with Border Championship regulars Trevor Bustard, Shane Maguire and Pat Kirk all lining up in their respective Mitsubishi Evo 9’s. Aidan Wray will join the fray in his newly acquired Mitsubishi Evo 10. Among the 2 wheel drive runners it is Virginia man Chris Armstrong with James Fulton on the notes who will lead the pack, for not only the 2 wheel drives, but also for the Paddy Kiernan Memorial Cup which is open to all class 13 cars on the day. Seeded behind Armstrong is Jonathan Pringle, who will once again have Martin Byrne on board in the Millington powered Escort. Monaghan driver David Moffett along with local man Gary Kiernan make up the class 13 contingent in the top 10 with other big names such as Adrian Hetherington, Brian Brogan, Paddy Boyle, Russell Woods and Paul Clarke among an all star line up

%d bloggers like this: