Skip to content

Autosport International announces Top 10 Motorsport Memories

Ahead of the 2023 edition of Autosport International, Europe’s largest motorsport exhibition, motorsport fans have been asked to share their greatest Motorsport Memories. An expert panel including three-time Formula 1 world champion Sir Jackie Stewart, OBE has decided on the top ten moments and fans are invited to vote for the winner.

After debating a wide range of memories, the panel has agreed on a shortlist that includes iconic moments from the world of Formula 1, the World Rally Championship, British Touring Car Championship and 24 Hours of Le Mans.

From the great Sir Stirling Moss covering 1000 miles of twisting Italian roads at an average speed of 99mph in the Mille Miglia, to Sir Lewis Hamilton’s last-gasp title success at the 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix, the voting will take fans on a nostalgic journey down memory lane.

Fans will now cast their votes online for these top ten Memories. They will then be able to see the ten chosen moments displayed as prints in a gallery at Autosport International, held at Birmingham’s National Exhibition Centre (NEC) on 12-15 January 2023.

The prints, supplied by Motorsport Images, will be prizes in a raffle to raise funds and awareness for Race Against Dementia, giving the fans a unique opportunity to take away a physical connection to their favourite motorsport memories.

Race Against Dementia is a global charity that uses pioneering research and a Formula 1 attitude to find a cure for dementia. The charity was founded by Sir Jackie Stewart, OBE, a three time Formula 1 World Champion who won a total of 27 Grands Prix and was an incredible advocate for safety in Formula 1.

Sir Jackie Stewart, OBE will personally sign the top ten memories and officially open the display before taking to the main stage at the show to talk about his personal involvement with Race Against Dementia, and sharing memories from his motorsport career.

The top ten Motorsport Memories

  • 1955 Mille Miglia – Sir Stirling Moss wins the Italian classic with an average speed of 99mph.

    Brescia-Rome-Brescia, Italy. 30th April – 1st May 1955.
    Stirling Moss / Denis Jenkinson (Mercedes-Benz 300SLR), Moss’s hands on the steering wheel taken by Jenks, action.
    World Copyright: LAT Photographic.
    Ref: 35.
  • 1957 German Grand Prix – Juan Manuel Fangio triumphs at the Nürburgring despite having a slow pit stop and falling 40 seconds behind the leaders.

    Nurburgring, Germany. 2-4 August 1957.
    Juan Manuel Fangio (Maserati 250F) 1st position, action.
    Ref-57 GER 18.
    World Copyright – Tony Smythe/LAT Photographic
  • 1966 24 Hours of Le Mans – Ford ends Ferrari’s winning streak at Le Mans with the iconic Ford GT40.

    CIRCUIT DE LA SARTHE, FRANCE – JUNE 19: Bruce McLaren / Chris Amon, Shelby American Inc., Ford Mk II, leads Ken Miles / Denis Hulme, Shelby American Inc., Ford Mk II, and Ronnie Bucknum / Richard Hutcherson, Holman & Moody, Ford Mk II, across the finish line and takes the chequered flag during the 24 Hours of Le Mans at Circuit de la Sarthe on June 19, 1966 in Circuit de la Sarthe, France. (Photo by David Phipps / Sutton Images)
  • 1969 Italian Grand Prix – Sir Jackie Stewart, OBE beats Jochen Rindt, Jean-Pierre Beltoise and Bruce McLaren in a four-way fight for the win and takes his first world title.

    Jackie Stewart(GBR) Matra MS80 takes the flag to win just ahead of Jochen Rindt(AUT) Lotus 49B, and Jean Pierre Beltoise(FRA) Matra MS80
    Italian GP, Monza, 8 September 1969
  • 1987 British Grand Prix – Nigel Mansell beats Nelson Piquet with a stunning overtake at Stowe corner at Silverstone, despite tyre problems in the early stages of the race.

    Race winner Nigel Mansell (GBR) Williams FW11B.
    Formula One World Championship, Rd7, British Grand Prix, Silverstone, England, 12 July 1987.
  • 1992 BTCC Silverstone – Tim Harvey wins the title whilst Steve Soper and John Cleland famously collide.

    SILVERSTONE CIRCUIT, UNITED KINGDOM – OCTOBER 04: Steve Soper, M Team Shell Racing with Listerine, BMW 318is, clashes with John Cleland, Vauxhall Sport, Vauxhall Cavalier during the Round 15 Silverstone at Silverstone Circuit on October 04, 1992 in Silverstone Circuit, United Kingdom. (Photo by LAT Images)
  • 1995 Rally GB – Colin McRae wins Rally GB for the second consecutive time and takes his first WRC title over teammate Carlos Sainz.

    1995 World Rally Championship.
    Lombard RAC Rally, Great Britain. 19-22 November 1995.
    Colin McRae/Derek Ringer (Subaru Impreza 555), 1st position. Celebrating on the podium with Prodrive team principal David Richards and the team.
    World Copyright: LAT Photographic
    Ref: 35mm transparency 95RALLY24
  • 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix – Lewis Hamilton passes Timo Glock on the final corner of the final lap in a wet/dry race to win his first world title by a single point.

    Interlagos, Sao Paulo, Brazil
    2nd November 2008
    Lewis Hamilton, McLaren MP4-23 Mercedes, 5th position, leads Timo Glock, Toyota TF108, 6th position. Action.
    World Copyright: Glenn Dunbar/LAT Photographic
    ref: Digital Image _O9T5259
  • 2016 24 Hours of Le Mans – Toyota loses the lead and the chance to win Le Mans for the first time since its return on the last lap.

    2016 Le Mans 24 Hours.
    Circuit de la Sarthe, Le Mans, France.
    Sunday 19 June 2016.
    Toyota Gazoo Racing / Toyota TS050 – Hybrid – Anthony Davidson (GBR), Sebastien Buemi (CHE), Kazuki Nakajima (JPN) stops in front of the Toyota pit wall.
    World Copyright: Zak Mauger/LAT Photographic
    ref: Digital Image _79P8836

Fans can vote for their ultimate motorsport memory HERE: Voting will close on 29 November. Tickets for the show are available to purchase at

%d bloggers like this: