Skip to content


Twelve ’Heroes in the hills’ of Donegal will be taking a more leisurely look at the classic rally stages when they head the parade of 150 historic, classic and supercars on Déjà vu Donegal’s 120 mile route on Saturday 31st August 2019.

Andrew Nesbitt, the six time winner, will lead an astonishing array of past rally machinery that includes Mini Cooper S’s of the 60’s, the Mk I and Mk II Ford Escorts of the 70s, the Opel Asconas and Manta’s of the 80s, and the exotic Group B cars such as the Metro 6R4s.

He will be followed from Jackson’s Hotel in Ballybofey by a host of famous names driving a living museum of rally motoring history. Cathal Curley who won the first three events will be in a Mk II Escort BDA. Antony Warmbold, son of Achim, who won the rally in 1975 will be in the actual BMW 2002 Ti that his father drove. The car is now used by David Wylie who will share driving duties with the German.

Brian Nelson will have a Porsche, just like he did in 1976 when he won the rally for the first time. There will be a Chequered Flag look-alike Lancia Stratus, similar in appearance to the one that Billy Coleman used to take his first of four Donegal wins in 1977.

Jimmy McRae has Wesley Patterson’s ‘Rothmans’ Manta 400; John Lyons a Mk II Escort in its original colours and Vincent Bonner, the first local winner, another  Opel Manta. And look out for that great Irish Tarmac Champion Austin MacHale and his son Gareth MacHale , both two-time winners in Donegal.

Letterkenny man James Cullen, the winner in 1991 and 1999 will be in and Escort, and three-time winner Eugene Donnelly will also be in the parade.

6 April 2018; Eugene Donnelly (Hyundai i20 R5) in service during Day One of the 2018 UAC Easter Stages rally, round two of the Irish Tarmac rally championship, at Ballyclare in Co. Antrim.

Bertie Fisher’s brother Ivan Fisher and his nephew Alastair Fisher will be reviving memories of the Fermanagh man’s four wins. Representing more recent times you will see Garry Jennings, the victor in 2012 and 2015 and Declan Boyle the 2014 winner.

Capping this quality line up will be Déjà vu’s special guest celebrity, the seven-times Belgium, Dutch and European Rally Champion, Patrick Snijers.

“This is the greatest response that we have ever had to one of our Déjà vu events and we hope that everyone will have a wonderful time and that the Donegal Hospice will benefit from the generosity of the rallying community. Our task in putting this show together has been greatly assisted by so many people in the north west and particularly Ivan Fuery and Rory Kennedy.”

Plum Tyndall and Dr. Beatty Crawford, Déjà Vu organisers.


Friday 31st, August

2.30 – 5.30pm     Registration – Ulster Tyres, Stranrolar.

8.30 – 10.30pm   Welcome Reception – Jackson’s Hotel, Ballybofey

Saturday 30th, August

10.00am   120 mile run. Start – Jackson’s Hotel

Lunch Halt – Singing Pub, Atlantic Drive

3.00pm     The Ramelton Rumble – Ramelton river front

7.00pm     Gala Dinner – Jackson’s Hotel


For further details contact:

Alan (Plum) Tyndall Tel. 0044 7887827150  email:

58 Edentrillick Rd. Hillsborough. Co. Down BT26 6PG


%d bloggers like this: