Skip to content

BOSS Ireland Champion Dwyer Receives Famous “Leinster Leader” Trophy

BOSS Ireland Champion Peter Dwyer was presented with the famous Leinster Leader Trophy at the awards ceremony in County Meath last week. Peter’s name is now added to a very exclusive list of winners, since the trophy was first presented 50 years ago. These include 5 time Grand Prix Winner John Watson, former Williams Grand Prix driver Derek Daly and team owner and former driver Eddie Jordan! Other famous names on the trophy include Tony Brise, Patsy McGarrity and Robert “Lucky” Lee Lewis!
With seven wins from eight races at the wheel of his Premier Machine Tools Lola-Nissan, Peter dominated the 2017 BOSS Ireland Championship. Such was his dominance of the series, that he even managed a thrilling win at Mondello Park despite starting from the pitlane having had issues in qualifying!
From Enniscorthy in County Wexford, Peter has been competing in motorsport for over 30 years, initially hillclimbing and moving to the BOSS (Big Open Single Seater) series back in 2008.
The championship win was achieved at the wheel of a Lola T96 powered by a Nissan AER World Series engine, which produces approximately 380bhp.
Peter Dwyer, 2017 BOSS Ireland Champion: “It has been a wonderful year for me and I’m honoured to join such famous names on this prestigious trophy. I will be back again for 2018 to defend my title and hopefully i can retain it!”

Action images from Michael Chester

%d bloggers like this: