Skip to content

MI Young Driver Carey Wins The Famous Leinster Trophy

Motorsport Ireland Young Driver of The Year Cian Carey returned to Mondello Park for the first time in a year to challenge for what is arguably the most famous trophy in Irish Motorsport- the Leinster Trophy.
Having won the BOSS Ireland series in 2016, the Meath driver graduated to the UK F3 cup series  this season, with a Chris Dittmann Racing Dallara-VW..

The Sport Ireland backed driver was quickest in testing on Friday , qualified on pole position for the first BOSS Ireland race and won as he pleased, in atrocious conditions.
He duly qualified on pole position for the Leinster Trophy race on the following day and lined up in the same position as Ayrton Senna had done exactly 35 years earlier, when the legendary Brazilian became the most famous winner of the Leinster Trophy.

When the lights went out Carey made no mistakes to lead the pack down into turn one. Mindful of the oil dropped by another class, he did not push too hard on the opening laps, unlike a previous winner of the Leinster trophy Paul Dagg. Despite spirited efforts from Dagg to grab the lead, Cian held on and within a few laps began to ease away. Towards the end of the race, a safety car intervention effectively wiped out Cian’s lead but he nailed the restart to perfection and eased away to take an historic, and hugely popular, victory.

Cian Carey,  Motorsport Ireland Young Driver of The Year:
“This is a dream come true. We had planned to come here from the start of the year and of course I hoped to win the famous trophy- but having has a tough season, it is extra special. I would like to thank Chris Dittmann Racing who have supported and helped me all season, as well as Mooretown Engineering, F Brazil Reinforcements, Tattersalls and Macari’s Ratoath, Motorsport Ireland, Sport Ireland and Declan Brennan Sports Management”