Skip to content

Imokilly Mini Stages is GO- with 115 Entries!

It’s a huge entry for the Imokilly Mini Stages rally, sponsored by O’Briens Garage Midleton and Mallow. The East Cork area will reverberate to the sound of rally cars when one of the finest entries of  modified cars seen in the country this year take to the stages on Sunday next July 23rd.

Rally HQ for the weekend is the Park Hotel Midleton with Parc Ferme , Service and Scrutiny all in the Market Green Shopping Complex. Cars leave the start Ramp at 10.20 Sunday morning and the winner should be back at the finish ramp at 16.30  Sunday evening, the format is Stage 1&2- Service , 2&3- Service and 3&4- Finish Ramp.

Youghal’s Jason Ryan and Finbarr Quirke will battle for the honour of best local crew.
James Fitzgerald and Mossey O’Carroll were first IMC crew home in 2016 and will be hoping to repeat it this year.

It’s a credit to the Club that in these tough times in motorsport they have attracted an entry of approx 115 cars. Last years winner is the number one seed, Cavan’s Jonathan Pringle (Escort) fresh from his recent win on the ALMC rally. At 2 is the 2015 rally winner Gary Kiernan (Escort), at 3 is Midletons Colin Byrne (Escort) Colin was 5th last year and hopes to improve on that. At 4 is Enda O’ Brien  (Escort) , 5 is Trevor Mulligan (Escort) 6th is Daniel Cronin in the first of the (Mitsubishi Evos) 7th is Barry Meade (Escort)  Barry won the first IMC Rally in 2012 when it was a Single Stage Rally.  8th is is Pat O Connell in a Mitsubishi Evo,  9 is the rapid Starlet of George Condell , George led this rally in 2015 going into the last stage but got beaten on the last stage by Gary Kiernan, at 10 is the very quick Limerick man Ed O’ Callaghan in the Escort add in David Guest ,Vincent McSweeney, Mark Dolphin, Tom Flaherty, John Lynch , Kevin Kelleher , Jason O’ Brien  , Mike Quin and Richie Wheelan.  That’s some top 20!

Imokilly Motor Club interest rests with Mark Dolphin in the Escort 8th last year he will hope to go better this year. First IMC crew and battling for the Brian Hurley award will be the likes of Jason Ryan/ Finbarr Quirke James Fitzgerald / Mossy o Connell (last Years Winners) in the Hondas and the twin cam boys Allen Treacy / Bob Fitzgerald and Willie Walsh / Carol O Keeffe.  There are loads of other IMC crews doing this event so come out and support the local crews

Clerk of the Course Emmet Cronin said it’s a savage entry I just cannot believe the interest in this rally its got quality and quantity. Thanks to my team who have put in a big effort over the last 6 months and to all our sponsors and anyone who has given us a help over the last few months, we need one last push now to get this over the line. Emmet thanked the crews who have come from far and wide to support our event and he said it’s a huge financial boost to the local  area there is not a bed to be got in Midleton .Emmet said we at the IMC regard safety as paramount and would like to remind spectators to please view from a safe area and obey the marshals who are there to help the event run safely, please drive with care and allow plenty of time to get to the stages Keep the  Race in its Place and drive safely.

The event is also a round of the Rally Championship. This is a championship where many of our young drivers are flying. Drivers like Killian O’Brien, Aaron McEvoy, Paudraig Walsh, Barry Archer keep an eye out for them on the stages .
If you want to know more about the rally keep an eye on facebook and and buy a programme for the maps the times and a few articles on our club and drivers, please support the rally and buy a programme.

Top 10
Jonathan Pringle   James Fultan   Escort    Cavan
Gary Kiernan     Ryan Moore         Escort    Cavan
Colin Byrne   Stephen Quin           Escort    Midleton
Enda O Brien  John Butler              Escort   Kilkenny
Trevor Mulligan Sean Hayde         Escort    Meath
Danial  Cronin   Shane Buckley     Mitsubishi  Bantry
Barry Meade  Eamonn Hayes       Escort    Banteer
Pat o Connell   Derek Gibbs         Mitsubishi  Tipperary
George Condell George Twomey     Starlet          Carlow
Ed O Callaghan Keith McCarthy     Escort     Limerick

Images from Ger Leahy Photography

%d bloggers like this: