Skip to content

50th Anniversary of @FIAWorldRX to be celebrated at @LyddenHill #WorldRX

Rallycross celebrates its 50th anniversary this weekend as the FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy travels to Lydden Hill for round five of the World Championship. To celebrate the occasion, a mixture of old and new rallycross cars were assembled at the Kent-based circuit where the first ever event took place in 1967.

Each of the sport’s five decades were marked by a wide range of rare rallycross cars, led by the Porsche 911 that won the first ever event, driven by Vic Elford.

Centre: Vic Elford, first ever rallycross winner (Porsche 911)

Row two, left to right: Mattias Ekstrom (Audi S1 EKS RX quattro), Andreas Bakkerud (Ford Focus RS RX Supercar), Sebastien Loeb (Peugeot 208 WRX Supercar), Andrew Jordan (Ford Fiesta RX Supercar), Petter Solberg (Volkswagen Polo GTI Supercar).

Row three, left to right: Pat Doran (Ford RS200), Herbert Breiteneder (Audi Sport Quattro S1), Will Gollop (Metro 6R4 BiTurbo), Timur Timerzyanov (Ford Fiesta RX Supercar), Philippe Tollemer (Peugeot 205 T16), Janis Baumanis (Ford Fiesta RX Supercar), Guy Wilks (Volkswagen Polo RX Supercar) Rob Gibson (Metro 6R4), Ian Sandwith (Green and White MINI).

Back row, left to right: Ollie O’Donovan (Ford Fiesta RX Supercar), Barry Stewart (Porsche 911), Kevin Eriksson (Ford Fiesta RX Supercar), Michael Gambillon (Simca 1000 Rallye 3), John Taylor (MkI Ford Escort), John Wheeler (Renault Alpine).

Tomorrow’s action will feature two qualifying sessions for World RX Supercars and RX2. There will be three qualifying sessions for the FIA European Rallycross Championship for TouringCar. Sunday’s action will comprise of a further two qualifying sessions for World RX and RX2 before the semi-finals and final which is scheduled for 1500 local time. will air the action live in the UK (1400-1600 local time) with livestream open in certain territories: