Skip to content

Carey is the BOSS at Kirkistown –

Cian Carey took two strong wins as the BOSS Ireland visited Kirkistown in Northern Ireland last weekend.
Ireland’s fastest single seater class were one of the main attractions on the ultra fast airfield circuit and they certainly didn’t disappoint, reaching speeds of over 150 mph at the end of the main straight.

Cian Carey qualified his Mooretown Engineering Formula Renault on pole position just ahead of the Ralt RT4 of Jonathan Fildes.
When the lights went out Fildes made a blistering start and pushed hard in the opening laps in the glorious sounding Ralt. Carey was next up with Noel Robinson , Barry Rabbitt and Tim Buckley right there too. Rabbitt tried a run around the outside of Robinson at Fishermans and looked to have made it stick but spun on the exit kerbs, recovering and rejoining quickly. On the entry to the chicane a few laps in, Fildes spun the Formula Atlantic machine, handing the lead to Carey, who controlled the gap beautifully to Robinson to take yet another win.
In race two, with Fildes unable to repair his car, which had suffered clutch issues, Carey was again unchallenged despite the best efforts of Robinson, crossing the line to take an impressive double and another haul of points in his quest to win the 2016 BOSS Ireland series. Noel Robinson was runner up again, with Rabbitt completing the podium in third.

BOSS IRELAND RACE 1 (12 laps):
1 Cian Carey (Tatuus F Renault),
2 Noel Robinson (Tatuus F Renault),
3 Tim Buckley (Dallara F3),

BOSS IRELAND  RACE 2 (14 laps):
1 Cian Carey (Tatuus F Renault),
2 Noel Robinson (Tatuus F Renault),
3 Barry Rabbitt (Tatuus F Renault).

BOSS Ireland Championship after 6 rounds:
1. Noel Robinson 85 points
2, Cian Carey 74 points
3. Barry Rabbitt 52 points
4. Jonathan Fildes 40 points
5. John Stewart 38 points
6. Fergus Faherty 33 points

If you would like to join Ireland’s fastest single seater series or to compete for the famous Leinster Trophy at Mondello Park in September- click HERE to email Dave Smyth,
Header Image from Tom Maxwell.

%d bloggers like this: