Skip to content

Historic Formula Ford 2000 Headlines at Kirkistown

The 2016 Northern Ireland motor racing season bursts into action at Kirkistown on Saturday April 2 with a bumper programme containing 14 races.

Headlining the programme rounds of the Historic Formula Ford 2000 Championship, which will bring memories flooding back. This formula was very popular in the late 70s and early 80s and the late Ayrton Senna on his only visit to Ireland won the Leinster Trophy at the wheel of a Formula Ford 2000 (Video HERE). The bulk of the entry will be coming from the mainland.

One of the most popular single seater racing classes at the County Down circuit is Formula Ford 1600 and included in the line up is Andrew Blair, one of the stars of Fiestas from last season he has decided to try his hand in this extremely competitive class. Other drivers to look out for Jordan Dempsey and James Roe, both graduating from Ginetta Junior Ireland and preparing for a full season in  the UK FF1600 series.

Further single seater action will be provided by the E Fox Engineers Formula Vees and they are always high on entertainment value at Kirkistown, so very close competitive racing is assured.

Saloons always a favourite with racegoers and a total of four races, two each for FordFiestas and Kirkistown Saloons. Donal O’Neill and Stephen Traub are amongst the Kirkistown Saloons entry.

Completing a varied entry are races for Roadsports and Global GT Lights.

Jake Global 2016
Mi Young Driver of The Year Jake Byrne guested in Global GT lights at the Mondello opener last month and dominated. Image from Michael Chester
%d bloggers like this: